News‎ > ‎

AGM Report 2016

posted 14 Dec 2015, 12:31 by Fiona Sampson

The Annual General Meeting of Whitegate Hurling Club was held on Sunday December 13th. The outgoing Chairperson David Solon who was completing his fifth year in the role spoke of the very strong position that the club was in, on and off the field. He commented on the senior team’s performance against Cratloe in the championship. Their commitment having lost one third of the starting line up, their display and attitude was exemplary. The minor team were also singled out for attention in his address as the only team to bring silverware to the club during the year. He also made reference to the current position of the club in respect of the up and coming developments, which are due to commence in early 2016. Davy thanked all those that had assisted in various ways throughout his tenure as chairman. He concluded his address by wishing the incoming committee the very best in writing the next chapter in the clubs proud history.

The secretary gave a detailed report of the year. He paid tribute to all those involved in assisting the club throughout the year; first aid/ physio, referees, those who assist team officials, cater for teams/ events in the clubhouse. He paid tribute to the chairman who he said poured his heart and soul into the club. He offered condolences to all those that suffered bereavement during the year.

The financial report was distributed by Michael Ryan. The success of the club Lotto was recognised and those involved were thanked for their commitment.

The management of the senior team for the coming season was ratified at the AGM and all present are eagerly awaiting the draws for the senior championship. All other team management was deferred to the incoming committee.

The following were elected for 2016: President’s: Ned Cahill, Sean Hynes; Vice Presidents: Michael Doyle, Tommy Holland & Paddy Bugler; Chairperson: Tony O Rourke; Vice Chairperson: Ger Hogan; Secretary: Fiona Sampson; Joint Treasurers: Adrian Hynes & Michael Ryan; Child Liaison Officer: Trevor Kelly; Committee: Raymond Cahill, Ian Fahy, Colm Madden and Kieran Gibbons.